“A person who has never owned a dog has missed a wonderful part of life.” (Bob Barker)

This has been the worst two days ever.  Our pooch Willie Nelson started having seizures on Wednesday night-spent the night in the ER, he is better now, but it was terribly scary.

This morning my mom’s beloved boxer Belle passed away.  We had Belle for 13 years.  She was the best dog in the whole world.  She will be missed.

We are heartbroken.

(Above images found on Pinterest.  I wish tumbler didn’t exsist so I could easily find the owners of these images.)

 

“For those who love dogs, it would be the worst form of a lie to call any place where dogs were banned “Paradise.” Certainly no loving God would separate people from their canine friends for eternity.”

(Stanley Coren)

49 thoughts on ““A person who has never owned a dog has missed a wonderful part of life.” (Bob Barker)

  1. I’m so sorry. I became a puppy mama for the first time a year ago. Sometimes I remember that Dolly will in fact die, and I cry about it, but then I remember that I will have so many wonderful memories of being with her, she will live forever in my heart. *Hugs*

  2. Thank you for posting

    I am deeply sorry for your family’s loss.

    Lord Byron has some beautifuly written thoughts on the loss of his dog, but my favorite is by W. Dayton Wedgefarth

    From Bum

    “So my good old pal, my irregular dog,
    my flea-bitten, stub tailed friend,
    Has become a part of my very heart,
    to be cherished till life-time’s end:
    And on Judgment Day,
    if I take the way that leads where the righteous meet,
    If my dog is barred by the heavenly guard
    we’ll both of us brave the heat!”

  3. I’m so sorry Malia. I’ve lost 2 dogs and it’s definitely hard. They are a part of the family. Remember all the wonderful memories and doggie kisses with fondness.

  4. So sorry for your loss! My parents’ dog (well, my first dog really) passed away in November… There’s a posting on it if you want to read it called “Farewell Missy”…. Dogs are really the best friends one could ever have.

  5. So sorry for you and your Mom. It is so hard to lose your best friend. I hope your dog gets better and stays better!
    Dogs leave pawprints on your heart.
    🙂

    Jw

    PS I just posted a dog biscuit recipe on my blog earlier this morning…

  6. So sorry for your doggie loss. They are like another very valued member of the family and it is so hard when they are sick and even worse when they pass.

  7. I’m so very sorry for your loss. We all go thru it at one time or another, but that doesn’t make it any easier.

    Hang in there! and spend some extra time with Willie, he’ll help you thru it!

  8. This makes me sad and I am so sorry for your loss. Animals are the greatest and it is truely heartbreaking when your pet passes (I have 2 cats and will cry for days when they pass). I hope you are ok soon! xoxo

  9. i am so sorry about Belle…Boxers are such wonderful dogs. You are lucky to have had her 13 years. For boxers that is LOOONG.

    They are prone to cancer of the mouth and I knew of a few (ours when I was a child) that passed at age 7. such great dogs.

    Am praying that your dog will be well too!

  10. This will be just another “sorry for your loss” among many that you get, and you won’t even notice it, for sure. But I don’t know what I’d do without my Lucy, and I’m sure you and your folks will be feeling the loss of Belle for the rest of your lives. I’m glad Willie Nelson will recover. 😀

  11. I am sorry about your mom’s dog and I am so glad your baby Willie Nelson is doing better. I know I was worried when we had to take our oldest dog Baxter to the ER, it’s so scarry. I enjoyed the pictures you posted. Warm thoughts are with you.

  12. So sorry to hear that 😦 My parent’s dog Daisy went to dog’s heaven in the autumn, she was 17.
    Hope Willie Nelson is recovering well.

  13. I am very sorry for your loss. I am a firm believer that animals are people, too, and we suffer their loss highly. Your photos are wonderful – they express the doggie love we love so much.

    I hope Willie Nelson is feeling fine now.

  14. I’m so so sorry for your loss. It’s heartbreaking, I know. I’m glad your pooch is better too… they make our lives so much better. : )

Leave a Reply

