Post Facial Feelings…

First I felt like this:

Image from Favim.com

At first my face felt raw.  My aesthetician was pretty clear that I would be sensitive, so at least I knew what to expect.  I was so glad she gave me the Milk of Magnesia prescription as it was the ONLY thing that soothed my skin.  Also, I mean it when I say, I really looked like a 13 year old boy.  My skin was completely full of imperfections.  The treatment just accentuated this but strangely my skin felt really good.  The texture was amazingly smooth and tight–BUT NOT DRY.  I knew that it was going to be more sensitive because it was my first time.

Then like this:

Image from Dermasphere

The first night I was REALLY sensitive.  The new products are intense (which is a HUGE surprise to me, I assumed that “all natural” meant less potent–100% not the case).  I am following her post treatment instructions to a T.  Vag cream and all.  Each day I look forward to the Milk of Magnesia mask.  Again, I knew it was going to be sensitive because it was my first time.

Now I feel like this:

Image from Costume Player Catalogue

Today is 4 days post treatment.  No sign of zits, and my skin looks AMAZING.   Totally worth the minor discomfort from the first 2 days.  Seriously, Wonder Woman meets Kim K amazing.  Even my scaring looks so much better.  My SHH admitted this morning that he was really worried that it was going to get worse but I could tell this morning that he was a little jealous.

I definitely have a glow from within look today.  I haven’t worn make up since Friday (pre-treatment).  I also haven’t worn sunscreen-which is against almost everything I believe in.  I have been wearing wide rimmed hats (stand by for awesome hat pics next week.) The idea of putting chemicals on my face right now is really disgusting to me.  I am looking into a new chemical free sunscreen now….let me know if any of you have suggestions.

I am really really really looking forward to my next treatment.  I’m not even scared of the extractions:)

Stand by for full product reviews.  I feel like its cheating if I give them to you after 4 days.

In other news, I did try a new product that I got from my Beauty Fix box before vacation.

PHILIP B. KATIRA HAIR MASQUE

Image from philipb.com

Instant Manageability & Shine Boost

• A gentle yet surprisingly versatile rejuvenator for all hair types.
• The unique, clear-gel formula sinks right in to plump up fine, limp strands or calm and smooth coarse, hard-to-manage hair.
• The squeaky-clean version of a deep-conditioning treatment: You get all the vibrant shine and silkiness you could dream of – without a trace of added weight or residue.
• Makes the most of any hair texture, taking lush, light and manageable to a whole new level.
• Paraben & Phthalate Free Formula

My Professional Product Whore Opinion:

Hated it.  I was excited about this line for a while, but terribly disappointed.

I followed the directions perfectly.  I even made sure to blowdry to seal the gel in before bed.

When I washed it out, I felt like there was a residue.  I HATE THAT FEELING.  So I washed again.  Still residue.  GROSS.

“Just one application will instantly revitalize your hair color, speed up blow-drying time, and lock in shine for a sexy, touchable, red-carpet finish.” -philipb.com

Nope, none of that.  Just gross residue that weighed my hair down.

FAIL.

 

****DISCLAIMER–my phone is stuck in Video Cam mode–hence why I didn’t post a pic of myself.******

31 thoughts on “Post Facial Feelings…

  1. Ok so sad about the hair product but I totally understand about not wanting residue. But I have found out a lot of conditioners actually have products that line your hair make it feel like it is smooth and then when it wears off is when you feel like you have fly away hair or dirty. Anyway so sad. I love Mary Kay day solution I have oily skin and so I need something that isnot oily but not sure what chemicals you are talking about because sunscreen to make it work is usually chemicals but if there is something specific you don’t want I can check out whether it has in there. But it is super light and you put it on before moisturizer and you don’t even notice it is there. When I go to the beach I don’t even change anything and I never get burned and than you don’t have grease face. 🙂 I obviously care about that haha Great post though. Extractions have always scared me so it is good to hear great thoughts post your treatment 🙂

  2. Did a double take at the “vag” cream reference, then figured it must be some Americanism I’m unfamiliar with. Reading earlier posts I discover vag means exactly the same on both sides of the pond.

    I respect a woman that’s prepared to put vagina cream on her face AND tell the world. Let us know how that works out!!

    Anyway, thanks for stopping by and liking my post – I’m quite delighted to have discovered your site!

    Bug @ Bugwear

  3. Have you tried Philip Kingsley Elasticizer? Its amazing for your hair! I’ve heard it can be difficult to find in the States, but feelunique.com stock it and they ship worldwide for free!

    PS – I totally want a facial after reading this post!

  4. We are really chemical free here in our house, so I may be out of my league. lol. We use Badger Balm for our sunscreen. Works great. 🙂

  5. Yea, definitely want one +the jealous shh 🙂 For the sunscreen: La Roche-Posay (french pharmaceutical co) has created a dual protection formula: protects against damage from UVB and! UVA. Relatively inexpensive, several formulations. Loved mine from the moment it arrived! It has to be applied separately, but its more like a base than another lotion…

  6. Chemical hair masks generally are short term solutions,and leave residue deposits on the hair,which finally do more harm than good.I usually use simple make at home aloe vera papaya hair masks instead & love the silky smoothness they give my hair………….http://wp.me/p1TExl-82 Give it a try-would love to know your feedback:)

  7. I love facials!! I’ve never had extractions done. They sound painful, but I’m fairly certain they’re necessary from time to time. Seriously, I rather have a facial than a massage.

  8. Great post. Just a quick comment about Bare Minerals – I’ve used it for years but recently made a switch. Although I really liked it, sometimes it looked powdery in areas where my skin was a bit dry or had larger pores – my nose was troublesome. I may go back at some point but that chalky look was really bothering me.

  9. What kind of facial did you get? I’d love to know, mostly just because sometimes I feel that facials don’t do all that they’re cracked up to, and I’m trying to find one that really works for me! 🙂

    • I got a MircoDerm and MicroCurrent I am looooooooving the results. As I mentioned, the spa I go to is Medical Grade, so they are SERIOUS about results. The best part for me is that I get all the pampering too:)

Leave a Reply

