Shellac Experiment Day 4-The history of Nail Art!

Did you know that nail art started 7000 years ago?!  It was used in India in 5000 BC  with Henna-Indian women are so cutting edge.

Image provided by http://www.hennaart.ca

Nail art origins are traced from the term “mehendi” used synonymously for henna, derived from the Sanskrit “mehandika.”  Much of the modern revival of henna derives from its popularity in India.  According to nail art history, the manicure is a cosmetic beauty treatment for the fingernails and hands enjoyed by both men and women!  Silly men…its NOT true that Trix are for kids and manicures are for GIRLY MEN.

The word “manicure” comes from the Latin “manus” meaning “hand,” and “cura” meaning “care”.

Traced back to 3000 B.C., the first nail polish has been made in China. Chinese created varnishes and lacquers for the nails and with the advance form of science and technology, many other forms of nail art with other forms of quality, finish and beautiful colors came into existence.

During the 17th century the wealthy in Chinese society used fingernails to demonstrate their wealth. Both men and women grew their nails to five inches long to show that they didn’t have to perform manual labor for their living–wowzers. Chinese royalties often wore elaborate gold, silver or bamboo splints (yup, splits) to prevent their nails from breaking.  I bet they wish they had Shellac then!

Egyptians also did the same thing as Chinese did but the difference is they use reddish brown. Egyptians ALSO used nails colors to signify the social order of their people with shades of red at the top. Kings and Queens colored their fingernails and toenails ruby red. Ancient Egyptians were very nail conscious, Cleopatra is known to have applied henna to tint her nails and archaeologists have found many solid gold manicure tools in Egyptian tombs. Women of lower rank only allows to color their nails pale hues.

In the nineteenth century the popular shape for nails was known as “the filbert” this was a pointy oval nail tip. Initially, women colored their nails with a subtle rose nail powder, but then Queen Victoria condemned this (WHAT A DIVA!!)

It wasn’t until the 20th century that nail polish was actually invented. Initially, it was referred to as nail enamel because it was developed from lacquers originally designed for automotive painting-weird.  This hit the market during the 1920’s-I think by REVLON.  At this time bright colors were shunned by the well-to-do because they were associated with the working class–WHAT A BUNCH OF SNOBS.  Upper class women were also expected to grow their nails long.  However, the iconic fashion designer Coco Chanel made both short and red nails chic before the end of the decade.  Coco Channel is so so HIP.

 

My Professional Product Whore Opinion: 

All those Diva’s running the world!  Glad I have the freedom to change color and length as I please.

Who else is Shellac-ing!?!?  Tell me your opinion!

Shellac Experiment Day 4-I am happy to say they are still perfect

8 thoughts on “Shellac Experiment Day 4-The history of Nail Art!

  1. I got it done a few times before I was pregnant and I loved it! Normally, my nails chip within one day of a mani no matter what polish or how much top coat. But, I was able to go about 7 to 9 days with Shellac and it looked great!

    • I can’t wait to see how long these babies last! I’m the least patient person I know, and I smudge ALL THE TIME. I love them bc they dry in the UV machine, so I can’t mess them up! LOVED READING YOUR BLOG TODAY!
      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I love henna. love love love it. I love the history of cosmetics too. I have gotten to really study it within the context of belly dance too. It’s so rich in history and it’s simple vanity! lol! I love it.

Leave a Reply

