Eyebrows…a small part of your face but a big part of your look.

Famous Uni-brows:

As if it wasn't hard enough having MADONNA as a mom....

When we were in Jr. High I had a uni-brow.  As if Jr. High wasn’t hard enough.  I was one of 3 brown kids in my whole school, my mom barely spoke English and my brother has Downs.  The last thing I needed was an unfortunate uni-brow.

After the uni-brow came these:

UnTamed

Finally I manged eyebrowS-2 separate eyebrowS….but I remember them being a lot like this image.  Over grown and outta control.

Then there was the THIN brow phase:

This was my least favorite phase

Then the grow back phase:

BLECH

Unfortunate Brow images from: HERE

All the tweezing…and later all the waxing.  I HATED my brows, hated them.  I never felt like I had it figured out.  They were ALWAYS the wrong shape for my face.  YEARS AND YEARS of wearing the wrong accessory for my face.  UNTIL…my very first trip to NYC with my co-worker Kim C.  She had convinced me that I needed to try this “new” thing called threading.  She and her sisters took me to this little-kinda gross-hole in the wall brow shop.  All Indian women, thread strewn all over the floor.  For $10, I was about to have an experience that would change my face forever:) and it hurt far worse than I could’ve imagined!  It was magical.

From WIKI:

“Threading is an ancient method of hair removal originating in the Eastern world. In more recent times it has gained popularity in Western countries.

Technique

Practitioners use a pure, thin, twisted cotton thread which is rolled over usually untidy hairlines, moustaches and other areas of unwanted hair, plucking the hair at the follicle level. Unlike tweezing, where single hairs are pulled out one at a time, threading can remove an entire row of hair, resulting in a straighter line. Because a large area of hair is removed at once, it could be painful, though The Guardian reports[1] that when done professionally “with a cat’s cradle of fine thread” it is quick and painless.”

Image from Wikipedia

Image from here

 

Threading Facts

  • It does not require chemical ingredients.
  • Threading is gentler on the skin.
  • Threading is an excellent option for those who use Retin-A, Accutane or similar products.
  • No use of needles, just a twist of thread with expert fingers to pull the hair out.
  • No redness, no burn

My Professional Product Whore Opinion:

This is a service, not actually a product.  And if your not, you should be.

Waxing works for some people.  So, if it does, stick to it-no reason to fix whats not broken.  But, if you have ever had a bad experience with waxing or feel like your shape isn’t perfect- YOU SHOULD BE THREADING.

It’s DIRT cheap (I’ve never paid more than $12).  If you check yelp or google you should be able to find a few recommendations.  On the coasts it was super easy for me to find.  In the Midwest and Denver, it is a lot less common but I was still able to find a few options.

While waxing was fine, it is WAY less precise than threading.  Also, I hated waxing because I was always getting skin ripped off along with brows.  It was painful.

In all honesty, threading hurts.  Its like tweezing multiple hairs at the same time.  I personally don’t think its any worse than waxing and I like that nothing gets ripped off of my sensitive skin except for hair.

The absolute best part for me is that the shape is always just perfect.  EVERY SINGLE TIME.

BTW-Lourdes WORKED IT OUT

UPGRADE LOURDES

 

 

20 thoughts on “Eyebrows…a small part of your face but a big part of your look.

  1. THIS.IS.MY.FAVORITE.POST.YET.

    I love threading. Love love love it. I get it done at the brow place at MOA and do very little to maintain them in the in betweens. I use a pencil for darkening (super fair eyebrows even though I ahve such dark hair…) and my brows are perfection. I love eyebrows and find it so unfortunate when someone has really poorly kept brows. they are the number one thing EVERYONE (men too) should do in their grooming on a regular basis.

    I am a little bit obsessed with eyebrows, actually…

    and uh…where is the picture of YOUR eyebrows?

    • Lol, I was feeling like I was posting too many pics of me. Glad you could see them in the “She Bangs” post:)

      I also went to the MOA 3rd floor lady (THOUGH, she should start accepting tips on CC-THAT DRIVES ME NUTS bc I NEVER carry cash). LOVE HER. Love that you love it too. When I lived in ATL, it was all the rage. Even if you had an appointment you would go in and still have to wait 15 mins.

      • yah she is pretty awesome. I have her do my top lip now and then too, though I realyl don’t need it that often. She is wonderful and honestly I don’t think it hurts NEARLY as badly as waxing does…and I have the same issues with waxing that you do-skin loss. It’s no fun.

        My friend Melanie turned me on to threading and I haven’t been back to tweezing since.

  2. I’m with Tasha – we want to see your eyebrows along with Lourdes, of course. I was just looking back at my college pics and was cringing on the skinny eyebrow phase…EWW! glad I’m past that 🙂

    • Lol, pls see “She Bang’s” post for current eye brows:) I’m having a tough time figuring out photography (of myself) for the blog. I’m taking some classes hoping it helps:) And until my now pink scar heals, I won’t be posting pics 🙂

  3. What a fascinating post. I certainly learned something new here. I like the result of the threading, but I must admit I really liked the uni-brow look the best. Perhaps because it is purely natural and personal beyond conscious design.
    And thank you for subscribing to my blog. I am certainly subscribing to yours.
    Walter

  4. Hi Lovely and thanks for liking my post on Yves Rocher. Incidentally, I got my brows threaded for the first time last weekend and you are right on point. I paid $12, it hurt like all to be damned, and I’m loving the precision involved. It was…an experience.

  5. Thanks so much for visiting my site and following. Love your stuff. I still haven’t mastered the perfect eyebrow shape either, I generally err on the side of too thin. I tried threading once from a do-it-yourself (while other people mock you) video, but I wasn’t very good at it. One of these days I’ll have to look for a threading place around here.

  6. Love this! I, too, went through a terrible eyebrow phase. They aren’t perfect now, but at least they’re workin’ it! My daughter on the other hand (who is 2 1/2) will be looking like Lourdes in no time. The poor, poor girl 😦

  7. This is sooooo true! So many times I have wanted to just grab a lady by the shoulders, shake her, and scream, “please stop shaving your eyebrows off!” into her face. 🙂

  8. Great post! I have a pain of a time with my brows, but I tweeze them myself, and as long as I stay the heck on them, mine turn out pretty good- although I’ll completely overhaul them from time to time, and for events or occasions.

Leave a Reply

