Miracle Product?

“As a dermatologist to some of the most famous faces in the world, their special needs often become inspiration for the creation of new products.  When more than one celebrity make-up artist asked Dr. Perricone for a type of foundation that would let the skin’s natural radiance and beauty shine through, No Foundation Foundation was born.

Created to keep skin looking dewy and flawless, this unique formula delivers many benefits of a traditional foundation without the heavy matte finish, which emphasizes the tiniest skin imperfections.  No Foundation Foundation is a multi-purpose product that provides natural translucent coverage, corrects skin undertones, instantly smoothes fine lines and boosts skin’s natural moisture throughout the day, all the while delivering antioxidant benefits.”

image and technical info provided by Perricone MD

“I took special care in formulating No Foundation Foundation with a non-chemical SPF 30 to deliver protection against sun damage, making it ideal for all skin types, even the most sensitive” – Dr. Perricone

Marie Claire – July 2009
“I was thrilled to find Perricone MD No Foundation Foundation. It erases blotchiness and pores with just a hint more coverage…”

Lucky – June 2009
“This is a full-fledged anti-aging treatment masquerading as a tinted moisturizer…”

My Professional Product Whore Opinion:

I hate makeup.  But more than makeup, I hate LAYERING serum (which is non-debatable), eye cream (also non-debatable) with moisturizer, and sunscreen and something with a little coverage and maybe some cream blush.  It is SUPER distracting to me.  I HATE the way it feels.  It is like wearing wet wool socks in leather boots all day.  BLECH.

I believe 100% that the more care the less coverage.  I wish I could RAP because I’d sing you a smart little ditty if I could.  The thing is, I work on a webcam all day (GET YO HEAD OUTTA THE GUTTER) as a software trainer and I have to look…presentable.  So some coverage is fairly important.

I honest to goodness spent LOADS of time trying to find a miracle product that does EVERYTHING.  And I mean EVERYTHING!  I wanted a sunscreen, with a little coverage, that is moisturizing, and makes my skin glowy/radiant without feeling like I’m wearing makeup at all AND I need it to have anti-aging actives, DMAE and Alpha Lipoic Acid, which help to firm skin and reduce the appearance of lines and wrinkles over time.  (Confession: I had no idea these were even an option: anti-aging actives, DMAE and Alpha Lipoic Acid.  So technically, these are extra credit:))

This is like hoping to find the most BEAUTIFUL stilettos that feel like Uggs when you walk.  IMPOSSIBLE.

While yes, NO Foundation Foundation does in fact have all of these attributes, it fails at one thing:  it made my skin super GREASY.  Like blot every other hour greasy.  Dewy=Pretty, Greasy=PRETEEN!

When I first put it on in the AM (after serum and eye cream), it was the perfect glow.  By noon, it was still pretty but needed a blotting tissue…by 2pm it was a GREASY MESS.

Overall, I love the idea of this product.  Unfortunately, just not perfect for me.

Currently I am testing Smashbox BB Cream (a BIG FAV in the Asian markets) and Laura Mercier tinted moisturizer.  Both are less full featured, but worth a shot.  Stand by for these reviews:)

3 thoughts on “Miracle Product?

    • Hi Sarah! No, I have not tried MAC yet. But I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to hear what you think. SPF what? I am finding that some of the tinted moisturizers with SPF can be a little too oily for me. LET ME KNOW!

      THANKS FOR READING!

      • it’s SPF 15. I wish it were higher but I agree that higher SPFs get a gross consistency. I also have trouble with higher SPFs giving me a chalky look. So far I like it, but the drawbacks are that it is not very moisturizing at all (I have to use something else under it) and I am undecided on whether it feels “makeupy” on my face

Leave a Reply

