I have Monistat 7 on my face!!!!!

I had my very first facial this weekend!  WHAT?!  You’ve never had a facial?!!!?  How is that possible?!?!  Truthfully, I do not know.  But, man have I been missing out!

I got a recommendation from a good friend of a great little privately owned spot in town.  She also sent me a killer first timers deal:)  After reading about the salon and really REALLY loving the website and info I had found, I made an appointment.

I arrived a little early on Saturday AM to make sure I had time to fill out any paper work.  When I arrived I fell in LOVE with the ambiance.  There was a HUGE stone fireplace and the overall feeling was simple but well thought out.

I was brought back into the treatment room where I was walked thru expectations.   I realized quickly that this was not going to be what I thought it would be :)  I mean that in the best way!

The appointment started with a “skin lesson.”  I actually can’t believe how much I learned.

Things I learned right away:

1.  My treatment was going to be intense.  Less relaxation more results.  (YES! YES! YES!)

2.  The skin is the largest organ in the body.  It is important to treat it as such.

3.  ANTIOXIDANTS ARE KING and all the products at this salon are made specifically with this in mind:

-Extensive studies indicate that diets high in antioxidant rich foods, such as fruit and vegetables, offer significant protection against other age-related degenerative diseases.

-All Peaches Skin Care is organic, filled with anti aging antioxidants and pure penetrating food for the skin!

4.  When you use products that are too harsh for your skin, your skin will build up a callus layer to protect against any more damage…THIS IS AMAZING. I am sad to say, I had a thick layer.

5.  MircoDerm is uncomfortable, but worth it.

6.  Exfoliation is KEY MORNING AND NIGHT!

She started with a good cleaning and exfoliation.  Then moved to MicroDerm-she set expectations really well for this so I was very prepared for the way it felt.  It was like being licked by a hungry cat…but more aggressive:)

Then she moved on to extractions–I am 30 something and these were my first ever extractions, needless to say, this was pretty uncomfortable.  Manageable, but definitely incentive to keep my skin clean in between treatments.

All the while I am enjoying hand, food and arm massages…I LOVED this part:)

Then, we moved on to the MircoCurrent treatment–this was also intense, but she set really good expectations about this so I was ready for it.  Basically, its like a facelift with out surgery…stand by for more details on this.

Then more massaging…and a heat treatment on my neck and shoulders.

Then we moved on to the more relaxing part of treatment.  A Milk of Magnesia mask….it sounds odd, but it was so so so soothing!!

Here I am at home with the same mask:

Then more massaging, and some follow up treatment info.

Because this was my first facial, I left looking like a mess.  Seriously a mess.  My skin felt amazing, but my extractions left me looking like a teenager.

After the treatment, my aesthetician took the last 15 mins to walk me thru the “prescribed post treatment.”  I LOVE THIS CONSIDERATION!  I love that she armed me with so much knowledge!

Here is my haul from the salon and some extra Sephora stuff too:

The biggest thing I took away was that I can not continue to put chemicals and parabens on  my face-my first step was all new products and I returned everything I had been using.  The truth is, I knew this was coming.  I have known for months that I was going to make a natural change.

Peaches makes all their own products, you can order here: http://peachesskincare.com/order-products.html 

WHY ARE PEACHES PRODUCTS DIFFERENT?
“Because after almost 23 years in the skin care industry and after taking care of hundreds if not thousands of clients I have seen first hand what the RIGHT skin care products can do. Over the years we have developed two other skincare lines with Peaches as our third and the one we feel is a stand-out product.

Organic, filled with anti aging antioxidants and pure penetrating food for the skin. YOU WILL SEE A DIFFERENCE with your first wash.

I have never believed in oily or combination skin, I believe we all have normal skin but we damage it by using foundation, bad skin care products, smoking and not knowing how to care for it.”

One of the things that impressed me the most is that they believe that beauty is for EVERYONE.  To be authentic to this, ALL OF THEIR PRODUCTS are priced under $30.  I spend $100 on my serum!  HOW REFRESHING!  Stand by for my product reviews!  I bought them all.

So back to my prescribed treatment.

You might have noticed in the haul image that there is a package of Monistat 7.  Its part of my facial treatment.  After I exfoliate/cleanse and tone, I apply a VERY thin layer of Monistat all over my face and neck.  It seems weird to put vagina cream on my face, but they swear by it, and I’ll admit that my face is healing really really well.  They say that its anti-fungal qualities help to heal acne.

Another interesting step is a Milk of Magnesia mask every night for the rest of the week.  The first night after the facial, I was pretty tender, almost raw.  The only thing that made it feel better is this mask.  She recommended that I sleep in it, and I did-SHH is so LUCKY.

My overall impressions of my treatment:

1.  I bought 4 more!  I LOVE THIS PLACE

2.  By the end I was so inspired by this experience and by my aesthetician that I HONESTLY considered a career change!  SERIOUSLY, she was that good.

3.  While I spend a lot of time and energy taking care of my skin, I know now that it wasn’t enough and that I had so much mis-information.

4.  I believe in results more than relaxation :)

5.  I am committing to using natural products on my body moving forward.  Did you know that some countries banned parabens in cosmetics?!  (stand by for more info on parabens)  As you can see from my small haul from Sephora, I picked up an all natural scrub and lotion, both by Pacifica.

6.  I APPRECIATE Sephora’s return policy so so so much, they constantly earn my continued support.

Addicted.  I can not wait to go back and to report on my new products!

69 thoughts on “I have Monistat 7 on my face!!!!!

    • THANKS SO MUCH! I considered using “I HAVE VAGINA CREAM ON MY FACE” but I thought it might turn some people off ;)
      I actually can’t believe how great the MoM felt! I LOVE IT. I bet its not bad for sunburn either:)

  1. I can’t stop laughing that you called it vagina cream. Love that. Hahahaha. Good review. My new favorite thing is my Oil of Olay Scrubber brush thing. I know there’s a better one out there but this one is for poor girls like me – still works great!

    • I honestly considered titling this post: “THERE’S VAGINA CREME ON MY FACE” but my mother-in-law and sister-in-law read this blog and I am quite certain they already question my antics…I got the Mia because I am too cheap to commit to the Clarisonic. AND I make my SHH use it, we just bought 2 different heads for it. I LOVE IT.

  2. Facials are wonderful aren’t they? And I love the sound of the Peaches skin care, will google it. It’s a great name! Did she really suggest you exfoliated morning and night though? Bit scary…a lot of times what happens with people is that they OVER-exfoliate which isn’t very skin cherishing. On the parabens, all-natural is best but not always possible yet. Parabens have been linked to breast cancer but most reputable companies only use about 1% to preserve the product and it’s taken a while to find natural preservatives. If a product doesn’t contain preservative it can cause all manner of problems, go off, lead to skin problems etc. So, it’s a tricky one…bring on the all-natural preservatives!!!

  3. This is a great post! I have been looking around on the Groupon deals and considering buying one for a salon facial. It’s finally my year to start treating myself well! I’ll definitely head over to the Peaches site and check it, I love trying new skincare.

    • Yes, so soothing! I love the way it feels on. I applied it with a cotton ball and it immediately cooled my skin. And, I’m not sure if it was the facial or the mask, but my skin felt nice a tight (not dry) afterwards. I totally dig it. The Monistat is apparently well known for curing acne! WHO KNEW!

    • lol, understandable with all that nonsense:) She prescribed it for its anti-fungal qualities–apparently anti-fungal is the nemesis of acne? I googled it a little and there are so so so many RAVING fans. It seems weird, but I dig it. My skin is noticeably better.

  4. haha it is so funny that you talked about skin care and taking care of your skin because I did the same thing :) Great women think alike I guess but I for sure didn’t go get pampered like you did!! haha that sounds like a ton of fun. I just did my first you tube clip on good skin care. I would love your honest opinion Malia http://www.angelaluvnlife.wordpress.com I know it isn’t perfect but I would like to do more and I would like to hear what people think about it before I do more. :) Thanks again love your blog!

    • YES! Great women do think alike! I also did my first youtube video about this treatment!! Turns out my voice is about 8 octaves higher than most humans can here…I was mortified;) I sound like a cross between a cartoon and someone who sucked in a bunch of helium. FAIL. I hope your had feels better!!!!

  5. Your treatment sounds so amazing that it’s inspired me to book my microderm in as I haven’t done it in about 2 years! eeek! I love how your skin feels the week after because it’s soo smooth! Your skin heals quicker the more often you do it too!
    Do you know if she ships outside USA??
    I’d love to try her products!

  6. I’m happy for you! I LOVE facials too! My husband always treats me for mothers day and sends me away for half a day of pampering. Best day of the year haha! The place I go to in OC use an organic brand too, can’t remember the name now but they gave me a Bluberry antioxidant moisturizer that was amazing! I’m gonna find it and give you the name.

    • I personally love the Papaya Creme Enzyme Polish, Luminous Peptide Serum, and Retinol Night Cre’me! The Night Creme is a big hit around these parts:) I love that they make small batches and NOTHING sits on the shelf bc the demand is so high! If I had to pick one I would pick the Night Creme. I also learned during my facial that your skin is working hard at night to repair the damage from the day (hence why it is so important to clean your skin at night to give it the best chance.) http://peachesskincare.com/order-products.html

  7. Malia, your name will forever be synonymous with Monistat and MOM…holy alliteration. The things I have learned from my esthetician are both crazy and slightly revolting, but thank goodness all that is grossly medical is so absolutely intriguing to me. Looking forward to reading your post on parabens.

    • Her name is Diana. I totally 100% recommend her. She was amazing. In my 1.5 hour session, she taught me so much. AND as previously mentioned she really made me reconsider my career choice! :)

  8. I loved your report on your first facial. I have never had one either and I am late thirty-something. Your post has inspired me to find someone in my area. I have a bunch of skin issues that need resolving, such as acne scars, acne itself, rough skin on my cheeks and redness (I think it is Roseacia, but haven’t been diagnosed yet. It is heriditary and my Mom and grandparents have it. I’m doomed!).

    I am really into essential oils and have found doTERRA skin care prducts. I just received the foam cleaner and a roll-on topical blend for problem areas. I’ll keep you posted. It you would like to know more about Therapeutic Grade Essential Oils, try the following link.
    http://www.browningessentialoil.com

    Here is info about the skincare line.

    http://www.doterra.com/tools/documents/skin_care_details.pdf

    I love your style and your sense of humor. Keep up the blogging!
    Becky
    http://www.eclecticsea.com

  9. Your first? Wow, good to know about Monistat. I’ve never heard of that before. Have you ever done the Preparation H on your eyes trick? I haven’t yet.
    Fun stuff. I’ll check out the Peaches products!

  10. Dear Fellow Internet Citizen,

    Hello! This is a form response crafted personally by me, Sabrina, to inform you, (appositive of your blog’s name going here), that I have nominated you for a Liebster Blog Award. For more information, check out this blog post: http://sabscan.wordpress.com/2012/03/06/ich-liebster-dich-internet/ (I have no idea how to put a short URL in a comment box)! Keep on writing and blogging, and congrats! :)

    P.S. I love the Monistat facial. I can’t wait to see the after pics!

    • AWWWW…I am over the moon flattered by this.

      I apologize for not responding right away, I found this in my spam.

      I don’t think I qualify:( EVEN THOUGH I REALLY WANT THE little banner:)

      I APPRECIATE YOU SO MUCH FOR THINKING OF MY BLOG. If there was a bigger word than flattered, I would use it here:)

  11. Ok when I first commented on this it was just from my phone and I read your post now that I see all the pics!!!! That makes me LOVE it even more!! HaHa AWESOME! I had a question are the peach products made with the pits make sure they are ground so they are spherical because if it is just crushed they can micro tear your skin because they have jagged edges. Anyway just thought I would ask but I LOVE the pics!!

      • yeah thats why I actually do the microdermabrasion making sure it is completely spherical beads because I use to use those peach style masks thinking that they are tightening my skin and they are making your skin inflammed. when I learned why I never used them again :) especially since I have problematic skin and I think it made me break out more sometimes because of that. haha just be careful :) but glad you found something you like thats always a good feeling

  12. I have been considering MircoDerm… I am pregnant with my first child at 30 and my skin is doing somethings I have never seen before… I am of course waiting until I have the baby but I must admit I am a bit frightened… It looks so painful!!! But I appericate your post it was witty and knowledgable….

    Simply Studded

  13. Hey Malia
    Be careful in your search for products without parabens. Why this may be nice to not have in formulations, sometimes they exchange that perservative with another. That other could be just as harsh, or even just as “un-healthy.” I hope you find what you are looking for. I have always been on the search and am also an obsessed cosmetic queen. If I find anything I’ll make a note to let you know:)

  14. Hahahah I’m jealous! I wish I can have that kind of facial too! A vaginal cream for the face? that’s interesting… maybe I might try it… MAYBE! hahaha it is kind of strange. Also, did you know that Milk of Magnesia is a laxative too? Hehehe… It’s just interesting that those products can be used on the face too.

    Nice post! I like it, I think I’m going to eat lots of antioxidants and pour some on my face. It does help us age less quickly.

  15. I’ve always wanted to try a milk of magnesia mask! And the vag cream talk is so true! I’ve heard lots of how it works before, but never learned the details! Gotta keep both of these hidden gems in stock. ;)

  16. Today, I went to the beach front with my children. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She put the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear. She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is completely off topic but I had to tell someone!

  17. I work for an all-natural skincare company too, and I learned SO much about the skin when I was hired on by them. WAY more than I ever learned in school. I’m in the process of learning about advanced facial techniques and the like, and I move onto microdermabrasion soon…and yes, it’s uncomfortable. AHAHAHA!

  18. Pingback: Sister, Sister, Italian Greyhound « Jane's Unsound Mind

  19. So, about all the exfoliation… One thing I read when I was doing all my acne research is to stay away from scrubs because they irritate acneic skin. Did the aesthetician mention anything about this?

  20. My sister works at a prison and she shared with me lastnight that Monistat 7 is what the women inmates in prison uses on their skin. She said she had a lengthy conversation with one of the women there about it. I thought to myself its worth a try. Ive tried some of everything due to bad acne. This is day one of me using it and I have purchased a calender to keep up with how its working. I googled it today and to read everyone comments was music to my ears! Glad to know that their are others that have tried it and it actually works.

  21. Pingback: Best Text Msg Regarding VAG CREAM! « Self Professed Product Obsessed

Leave a Reply

